Book Review: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Book Review: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

35216509Title: They Both Die at the End

By: Adam Silvera

Published: September 7th 2017

By: Simon & Schuster

Genre: YA-Romance-GLBT-Family-Contemporary

When Mateo receives the dreaded call from Death-Cast, informing him that today will be his last, he doesn’t know where to begin. Quiet and shy, Mateo is devastated at the thought of leaving behind his hospitalised father, and his best friend and her baby girl. But he knows that he has to make the most of this day, it’s his last chance to get out there and make an impression.

Rufus is busy beating up his ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriend when he gets the call. Having lost his entire family, Rufus is no stranger to Death-Cast. Not that it makes it any easier. With bridges to mend, the police searching for him and the angry new boyfriend on his tail, it’s time to run.

Isolated and scared, the boys reach out to each other, and what follows is a day of living life to the full. Though neither of them had expected that this would involve falling in love…

Another beautiful, heartbreaking and life-affirming book from the brilliant Adam Silvera, author of More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me. 

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera”

Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda  by Becky Albertalli

19547856Title: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

By: Becky Albertalli

Published:  April 7th 2015

By: Balzer + Bray

Genre: YA-Contemporary-Romance-Glbt-Family

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. 

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli”

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994Title: I’ll Give You the Sun

By: Jandy Nelson

Published: September 16th 2014

By:  Dial Books

Genre: YA-Contemporary-Romance-Glbt-Family-Favorite

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson”

DFN Review: Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

DFN Review: Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

22082082

Title : Our Own Private Universe

 By : Robin Talley

Published : January 31st 2017

By : Harlequin Teen

Genre : GLBT-YA-Romance-Contemporary

Fifteen-year-old Aki Simon has a theory. And it’s mostly about sex.

No, it isn’t that kind of theory. Aki already knows she’s bisexual—even if, until now, it’s mostly been in the hypothetical sense. Aki has dated only guys so far, and her best friend, Lori, is the only person who knows she likes girls, too.

Actually, Aki’s theory is that she’s got only one shot at living an interesting life—and that means she’s got to stop sitting around and thinking so much. It’s time for her to actually do something. Or at least try.

So when Aki and Lori set off on a church youth-group trip to a small Mexican town for the summer and Aki meets Christa—slightly older, far more experienced—it seems her theory is prime for the testing.

But it’s not going to be easy. For one thing, how exactly do two girls have sex, anyway? And more important, how can you tell if you’re in love? It’s going to be a summer of testing theories—and the result may just be love.

Goodreads

Continue reading “DFN Review: Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley”

Book Review : The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Book Review : The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

30388930

Title :  The Inexplicable Logic of My Life

 By : Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Published : March 7th 2017

By : Clarion Books

Genre :  Contemporary – YA – Family – Glbt

From the multi-award-winning author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe comes a gorgeous new story about love, identity, and families lost and found.

Sal used to know his place with his adoptive gay father, their loving Mexican-American family, and his best friend, Samantha. But it’s senior year, and suddenly Sal is throwing punches, questioning everything, and realizing he no longer knows himself. If Sal’s not who he thought he was, who is he? This humor-infused, warmly humane look at universal questions of belonging is a triumph.

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review : The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz”