Book Review | Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe #2) by Neal Shusterman

Book Review | Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe #2) by Neal Shusterman

33555224. sy475

 

Title: Thunderhead

By: Neal Shusterman

Series: Arc of a Scythe #2

Pages: 504

Published: January 9th, 2018

By: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Genre: YA | Dystopia | Sci-Fi | Fantasy

Buy itBook Depository

 

 

Synopsis


Rowan has gone rogue, and has taken it upon himself to put the Scythedom through a trial by fire. Literally. In the year since Winter Conclave, he has gone off-grid, and has been striking out against corrupt scythes—not only in MidMerica, but across the entire continent. He is a dark folk hero now—“Scythe Lucifer”—a vigilante taking down corrupt scythes in flames.

Citra, now a junior scythe under Scythe Curie, sees the corruption and wants to help change it from the inside out, but is thwarted at every turn, and threatened by the “new order” scythes. Realizing she cannot do this alone—or even with the help of Scythe Curie and Faraday, she does the unthinkable, and risks being “deadish” so she can communicate with the Thunderhead—the only being on earth wise enough to solve the dire problems of a perfect world. But will it help solve those problems, or simply watch as perfection goes into decline?

| Goodreads | Continue reading “Book Review | Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe #2) by Neal Shusterman”

Blog Tour | Magic Unleashed (Venators #1) by Devri Walls

Blog Tour | Magic Unleashed (Venators #1) by Devri Walls

36192231. sy475

 

Title: Magic Unleashed

By: Devri Walls

Series: Venators #1

Pages: 416

Published: April 10th, 2018

By:  Brown Books Publishing Group

Genre: YA | Urban Fantasy 

Buy itBook Depository | Amazon

 

 

Synopsis


Six years ago, Grey Malteer was attacked by creatures he thought couldn’t possibly exist. They repeated a word, calling him a name he’d never heard before…Venator. Since then, his life has been a hellhole of secrecy—hiding old pain alongside strange new abilities.

Rune Jenkins has an itch, as she calls it, but it’s more than that. It’s an anger that builds up like the inside of a boiler whenever she’s around anything remotely supernatural. The pressure is growing steadily worse and she can’t understand why. All she knows is—her control is slipping.

By order of an unknown council Grey and Rune are pulled through a portal in the St. Louis arch, landing them in an alternate dimension where creatures of myth and legend exist. A realm that calls them, Venators.

Made up of centuries old fae, vampires, werewolves, elves and succubi the council’s corrupt nature becomes obvious as they seek to wield the newly returned Venators as weapons. Wedged in an impossible position, Grey and Rune must decide their fate—do they go against the council’s wishes and help the innocents of this unforgiving land, or face the possibility of execution by the council.

| Goodreads | Continue reading “Blog Tour | Magic Unleashed (Venators #1) by Devri Walls”

Book Review | Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw

Book Review | Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw

43822698

Title: Winterwood

By: Shea Ernshaw

Series: NO

Pages: 323

Published: November 5th, 2019

By: Simon Pulse

Genre: YA | Fantasy | Magic | Romance

Buy it: Book Depository

Synopsis


Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

| Goodreads |

Continue reading “Book Review | Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw”

Book Review | The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by Rin Chupeco

Book Review | The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by Rin Chupeco

30095464

 

Title: The Bone Witch

By: Rin Chupeco

Series: The Bone Witch #1

Pages: 432

Published: March 7th, 2017

By: Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: YA | Fantasy | Magic

Buy itBook Depository

 

 

Synopsis


In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price. When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training. In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice. 

| Goodreads | Continue reading “Book Review | The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by Rin Chupeco”

Double ARC Review | The Unspoken Name & What the Other Three Don’t Know

Double ARC Review | The Unspoken Name & What the Other Three Don’t Know

🌿 Hi guys! I hope you’re having a beautiful day ❤️, here I bring you another edition of my double book reviews and this time I have a super popular book at the time that I enjoyed a lot, even more than I expected and another that unfortunately was a bit disappointing in execution, but it has a great diverse aspect that’s worth highlighting. I thank NetGalley and publishers such as Tor Books & Shadow Mountain for providing me with copies of these books in exchange for honest reviews. It’s really a blessing and I know that I’m fortunate to have these kinds of opportunities, so very grateful  🥰  & finally, I hope you enjoy the reviews and let me know everything you think about these books in the comments! 🌿 Continue reading “Double ARC Review | The Unspoken Name & What the Other Three Don’t Know”

ARC Review |The Ninth Sorceress by Bonnie Wynne

ARC Review |The Ninth Sorceress by Bonnie Wynne

48481720. sy475

 

Title: The Ninth Sorceress

By: Bonnie Wynne

Series: The Price of Magic

Pages: 486

Publication: February 13th, 2020

By: Talem Press

Genre: YA | Fantasy | Magic

Buy it: Amazon

 

Synopsis


In the blackest dungeon of the Clockwork City, a prisoner lies bound in silver shackles. Who is she? And why are the wizards so afraid of her?

Seventeen-year-old Gwyn has no family and no past. Apprenticed to a half-mad herbalist, she travels the snow-blasted High Country, hawking potions in a peddler’s wagon. Her guardian hides her from the world like a dark secret, and she knows better than to push for answers.

But when she discovers she is hunted by the goddess Beheret, Gwyn is drawn into a deep and ancient tale: of chained gods and lost magic, of truths long buried and the rising of a war she never could have imagined.

Wizards and their magic-sniffing hounds pursue her – as does a stranger in a smiling mask, who calls her by an unfamiliar name…

But what really terrify her are the dangerous gifts she’s spent her life suppressing. Now, Gwyn must step out of the shadows and take charge of her destiny – even if the price is her own soul.

The Ninth Sorceress is the breathtaking first instalment of The Price of Magic, a sweeping fantasy saga full of rich storytelling and tangible magic.

| Goodreads | Continue reading “ARC Review |The Ninth Sorceress by Bonnie Wynne”

Book Review || The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) by Holly Black

Book Review || The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) by Holly Black

44428899

 

Title: The Queen of Nothing

By: Holly Black

Series: The Folk of the Air #3

Pages: 308

Published: November 19th, 2019

By: Little, Brown and Company

Genre: YA | Fantasy | Romance

Buy it: Book Depository

 

Synopsis


He will be the destruction of the crown and the ruination of the throne.

Power is much easier to acquire than it is to hold on to. Jude learned that lesson when she released her control over the wicked king, Cardan, in exchange for immeasurable power.

Now, as the exiled mortal Queen of Faerie, Jude is left reeling from Cardan’s betrayal. She bides her time, determined to reclaim everything he took from her. Opportunity arrives in the form of her deceptive twin sister, Taryn, whose mortal life is in peril.

Jude must risk venturing back into the treacherous Faerie Court, and confront her lingering feelings for Cardan, if she wishes to save her sister. But Elfhame is not as she left it. War is brewing. As Jude slips deep within enemy lines, she becomes ensnared in the conflict’s bloody politics.

And when a terrible curse is unleashed, panic spreads throughout the land, forcing her to choose between her ambition and her humanity….

|| Goodreads || Continue reading “Book Review || The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) by Holly Black”