Book Review: The Girl In The Ice/Te Vere Bajo el Hielo by Robert Bryndza

Book Review: The Girl In The Ice/Te Vere Bajo el Hielo by Robert Bryndza

33536851Title: Original: The Girl In The Ice (Detective Erika Foster #1). Spanish Edition: Te Vere Bajo el Hielo

By: Robert Bryndza

Published: First published : February 12th 2016/ Spanish: March 16th 2017

By: Bookouture/ Spanish Edition: Roca Editorial

Genre: Mystery-Thriller-Dark-Contemporary-Adult-Crime

Llega una nueva y adictiva serie de thrillers protagonizada por la detective Erika Foster. Más de 1.000.000 de ejemplares vendidos. Su cuerpo está congelado. Sus ojos abiertos han visto la muerte. Sus labios, delicadamente separados, parecen estar a punto de decir algo. ¿Qué oscuros secretos esconde la chica que está bajo el hielo? Un joven descubre el cadáver de una chica debajo de una gruesa capa de hielo en un parque del sur de Londres. La detective Erika Foster será la encargada de dirigir la investigación del caso, mientras lucha contra sus propios demonios personales. Cuando Erika comienza a indagar en el pasado de la víctima, todo parece apuntar a que su asesinato está conectado con el homicidio de otras tres mujeres que han sido encontradas con signos de estrangulación, las manos atadas y, sospechosamente, también bajo las aguas congeladas de otros lagos en Londres. Poco a poco, Erika se aproxima a la verdad, sin sospechar que el asesino quizá también la observa y se acerca cada vez más a ella



Her eyes are wide open. Her lips parted as if to speak. Her dead body frozen in the ice…She is not the only one.

When a young boy discovers the body of a woman beneath a thick sheet of ice in a South London park, Detective Erika Foster is called in to lead the murder investigation.

The victim, a beautiful young socialite, appeared to have the perfect life. Yet when Erika begins to dig deeper, she starts to connect the dots between the murder and the killings of three prostitutes, all found strangled, hands bound and dumped in water around London.

What dark secrets is the girl in the ice hiding?

As Erika inches closer to uncovering the truth, the killer is closing in on Erika.

The last investigation Erika led went badly wrong… resulting in the death of her husband. With her career hanging by a thread, Erika must now battle her own personal demons as well as a killer more deadly than any she’s faced before. But will she get to him before he strikes again?

A page-turning thriller packed with suspense. If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter, discover Robert Bryndza’s new series today.

Watch out for more from DCI Erika Foster

She’s fearless. Respected. Unstoppable. Detective Erika Foster will catch a killer, whatever it takes.

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review: The Girl In The Ice/Te Vere Bajo el Hielo by Robert Bryndza”

Book Review: Roses of May by Dot Hutchison

Book Review: Roses of May by Dot Hutchison

30109999Title: Roses of May (The Collector #2)

By: Dot Hutchison

Published: May 23rd 2017

By: Thomas & Mercer

Genre: Mystery-Thriller-Dark-Contemporary-Adult

May contain spoilers from the previous book

Four months after the explosion at the Garden, a place where young women known as the Butterflies were kept captive, FBI agents Brandon Eddison, Victor Hanoverian, and Mercedes Ramirez are still entrenched in the aftermath, helping survivors in the process of adjusting to life on the outside. With winter coming to an end, the Butterflies have longer, warmer days of healing ahead. But for the agents, the impending thaw means one gruesome thing: a chilling guarantee that somewhere in the country, another young woman will turn up dead in a church with her throat slit and her body surrounded by flowers.

Priya Sravasti’s sister fell victim to the killer years ago. Now she and her mother move every few months, hoping for a new beginning. But when she ends up in the madman’s crosshairs, the hunt takes on new urgency. Only with Priya’s help can the killer be found—but will her desperate hope for closure compel her to put her very life on the line?

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review: Roses of May by Dot Hutchison”

Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

25733990Title: Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1)

By: Sylvain Neuvel

Published: April 26th 2016

By: Del Rey

Genre: Sci-Fi-Mystery-Adult

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

Goodreads

Continue reading “Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel”

Book Review : “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” By Bryn Greenwood.

Book Review : “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” By Bryn Greenwood.

26114135

Title : All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

By : Bryn Greenwood

Published :  August 9th 2016

By:   Thomas Dunne Books

Genre : Adul – Romance – Fiction – Contemporary

As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people that asks tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.



Rating

3.5 / 5 Stars



Review

“I liked learning things. How numbers worked together to explain the stars. How molecules made the world. All the ugly and wonderful things people had done in the last two thousand years.”

Continue reading “Book Review : “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” By Bryn Greenwood.”