Top 5 | 5-Star Book Predictions | 2020 Edition 🌿

🌿 Hi, guys! I hope you’re having the best day, surrounded by amazing readings.❤️ Today I decided to start the week with something fun, so I’ll try to guess what books will be 5 stars for me this year. I know I did one of these in the past, but it was a disaster and I ended up not reading any of those books, so this time I’ll make sure that the books I mention are books that I know I’ll be reading during the year and so at the end of 2020, I’ll be able to return with a post telling you all about it.  😊 
It’s quite difficult for me to give 5 stars, I tend to be quite demanding with my readings, but I still love this idea, I love to see it on videos and in other posts, so I thought it would be fun to do it myself. It’s also a great incentive to read these books since I’m dying of curiosity to know if they would eventually become 5 stars, even if it would end up being 4.5 stars, it would be wonderful for me.👏🏻
Super excited to share this list with you, each one of these books has a unique concept that resonates with me or I’ve read the authors in the past and I’ve loved their work, so that’s my justification. Now without further ado, let’s start! 🌿

Imagen relacionada



 

Book Reviews List (6)

Burn Our Bodies Down


From the author of the New York Times bestseller Wilder Girls comes a new twisty thriller about a girl whose past has always been a mystery–until she decides to return to her mother’s hometown . . . where history has a tendency to repeat itself.

Ever since Margot was born, it’s been just her and her mother. No answers to Margot’s questions about what came before. No history to hold on to. No relative to speak of. Just the two of them, stuck in their run-down apartment, struggling to get along.

But that’s not enough for Margot. She wants family. She wants a past. And she just found the key she needs to get it: A photograph, pointing her to a town called Phalene. Pointing her home. Only, when Margot gets there, it’s not what she bargained for.

Margot’s mother left for a reason. But was it to hide her past? Or was it to protect Margot from what’s still there?

The only thing Margot knows for sure is there’s poison in their family tree, and their roots are dug so deeply into Phalene that now that she’s there, she might never escape.

Goodreads | Book Depository


 

Book Reviews List (7)

33555224. sy475


Rowan has gone rogue, and has taken it upon himself to put the Scythedom through a trial by fire. Literally. In the year since Winter Conclave, he has gone off-grid, and has been striking out against corrupt scythes—not only in MidMerica, but across the entire continent. He is a dark folk hero now—“Scythe Lucifer”—a vigilante taking down corrupt scythes in flames.

Citra, now a junior scythe under Scythe Curie, sees the corruption and wants to help change it from the inside out, but is thwarted at every turn, and threatened by the “new order” scythes. Realizing she cannot do this alone—or even with the help of Scythe Curie and Faraday, she does the unthinkable, and risks being “deadish” so she can communicate with the Thunderhead—the only being on earth wise enough to solve the dire problems of a perfect world. But will it help solve those problems, or simply watch as perfection goes into decline? 

Goodreads | Book Depository


 

Book Reviews List (10)

36337550


“Gosford Park” meets “Groundhog Day” by way of Agatha Christie – the most inventive story you’ll read this year.

Tonight, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed… again.

It is meant to be a celebration but it ends in tragedy. As fireworks explode overhead, Evelyn Hardcastle, the young and beautiful daughter of the house, is killed.

But Evelyn will not die just once. Until Aiden – one of the guests summoned to Blackheath for the party – can solve her murder, the day will repeat itself, over and over again. Every time ending with the fateful pistol shot.

The only way to break this cycle is to identify the killer. But each time the day begins again, Aiden wakes in the body of a different guest. And someone is determined to prevent him ever escaping Blackheath…

SELECTED AS A BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE GUARDIAN, I PAPER, FINANCIAL TIMES AND DAILY TELEGRAPH. 

Goodreads | Book Depository


 

Book Reviews List (8)

43822698


Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

Goodreads | Book Depository


 

Book Reviews List (9)

44804083


The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire’s award-winning, bestselling Wayward Children series, Come Tumbling Down picks up the threads left dangling by Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones

When Jack left Eleanor West’s School for Wayward Children she was carrying the body of her deliciously deranged sister–whom she had recently murdered in a fit of righteous justice–back to their home on the Moors.

But death in their adopted world isn’t always as permanent as it is here, and when Jack is herself carried back into the school, it becomes clear that something has happened to her. Something terrible. Something of which only the maddest of scientists could conceive. Something only her friends are equipped to help her overcome.

Eleanor West’s “No Quests” rule is about to be broken.

Again.

Goodreads | Book Depository



Original background image HERE

And this is my list! Super excited for each one of these books, I feel that I really love them and I also love the variety of genres that are among them ❤️ 

Now I would LOVE to know what you think! What are your 5-star predictions for this 2020? & Have you read any of these books or do you plan to read them?
 🌿 Let me know everything in the comments 🌿 

GoodreadsTwitter | Pinterest

31 thoughts on “Top 5 | 5-Star Book Predictions | 2020 Edition 🌿

      1. Aw, thank you so much Sofii! Someone reminded me recently that having a teetering TBR at least means you won’t run out of good books to read 😁 so bring on the books!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I want to read all of these! Hopefully this year too. I seriously need to find out what the Scythe series is like and I can’t believe I haven’t read 7 & 1/2 Deaths yet, it’s been on my TBR forever 🙈
    I hope you end up loving all these books 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OK my 5 star predictions are …. Where the Lost Wander by Amy Harmon; A Heart so Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer and Aurora Burning by Jay Kristof and Amie Kaufman 😉 Now that first cover on your list is drool worthy Sofii!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is one of my favorite “challenges” to watch on Youtube, lol. It’s just so fun how little we know sometimes about our own reading tastes or how much hope we place in one book.

    All of these look like they could be my 5-star reads as well 😀 I hope you’ll love them all, especially the Rory Power book ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree! I love watching this kind of video on BookTube, I also think it’s super fun to see the thoughts of each reading after they read them. 😄
      Thank you SO much, honey!! Oh, that’s great, I hope they’re 5 stars for you if you read them as well, I would LOVE to know your opinion about them ❤️💫

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.